Beardfish – Into the Night (2008)

Publicado: 30 agosto, 2010 en progresivo
Etiquetas:, ,

Muy poca gente conoce a Beardfish. Son un grupo sueco de rock progresivo sueco con influencias de los clásicos del género, como Yes y Genesis. La propia banda reconoce estas influencias y alguna más:  Radiohead, Elton John, Gentle Giant, Camel…

La canción de hoy es parte de su disco Sleeping in Traffic (Part II). Junto a la primera parte, narra un día en la vida de una persona, desde un amanecer al siguiente. Esta segunda parte narra las 12 horas de la noche, incluyendo un paseo por un bosque, el encuentro con un capitán pirata y una fiesta en la que un tipo descubre que es gay al acostarse con un travesti. Lo habéis imaginado, no es un disco corriente…

Voy a dejar que os lo expliquen ellos:

“Sometimes music comes to you just because you sit down by an instrument to play something and the fingers start moving and it’s a new thing you haven’t heard before (preferably no one else has either!). The first part of Into The Night is such a theme. I had difficulty coming up with the next part though and Robert had this piece of music with a laid back guitar arpeggio and some nice slow chord changes that he played for us one day in the rehearsal studio. It had a couple of variations and a possible ending for the song so we decided to put it in there and then when I came home that night I had more fantasy to come up with the remaining parts (which turned out to be quite a few). Into The Night is the first real song on the album and lyrically it takes off from where we left off in the previous album where our main character has been left by his woman and he is screaming out “she won’t miss me when I’m gone”. This is sort of him working out the problems on his own so as he wanders off he accidentally walks into the woods and the story is to a large portion told musically rather than lyrically from that point on. It turned out very well in our own opinion, but it might take a few tryouts for the listener, we don’t know yet and we’re waiting with excitement!”

Así que vamos a pasear por el bosque a media noche…

When did they come and where did they go
My thoughts, pure and white like snow
Here come the long and dark night of my soul
And now I’m all alone
There’s a deep dark hole now where my love once used to be
She set me free
This is the long and dark night of my soul
Yes, now I’m all alone

So I’ve erased myself, replaced my mind, it’s a clean slate
All I’ve felt and everyone I’ve ever known is gone
I feel a need to leave, just run straight into nowhere
There’s nothing left in this town but self loathing

You think you know, think you can see who I am?
Don’t colour my sleeves with your narrow mind
I’m more than my hair or the clothes that I wear
I feel the need for a new way of thinking
So I surrender myself to me

When did they come…

Lost in this approaching night
Traces of summer, still warm and breezy
As the sun sets over the forest

The woods are dark, cold and damp
I’m alone in here, and though I can’t feel the presence of man
I feel something staring

I don’t think the animals will harm me
But I know they know I’m here
To them I am the predator
It’s man they’ve learned to fear

Suddenly a gun shot, then another
Someone is aiming at me
I throw myself behind a big old pine
My heart is beating like crazy
I can sense The Hunter, he’s behind me
I’m a deer in his eyes
I start to run and hear him fire once more
Maybe I’m too far away…

Responder

